Evolution of Style

My last couple of posts were scrapping blast from the past. Its like looking back at old yearbook photos. There was the bright almost blinding 80s. That is what I think of when I look back at those older layouts I did when I could not put enough patterned American Crafts paper down. Then there was the understated grungy 90s- this was my prime “I am finding myself” teen years. Whenever I look at my experimentation with the shabby chic vintage scrapping style using Graphic 45- I get a flash back of me in high school with overpriced ripped jeans, old plaid flannel shirt and my brown doc martins.  Just like getting older, maturing and finding your true self, I think the same thing happens in scrapbooking.  How many people scrap today like they did when they first started? How many people scrapping style has changed over the years? I am going to guess the answer is a big fat nobody as to the first question and everybody as to the second question.

For me, style is an ever evolving thing  but with each new layout my true self emerges as elements and themes start to stick. Below is a prime example of my evolution of style in scrapbooking. It borrows my love of bright colors and mixture of patterns with some of the subtlety of my shabby chic days using the Basic Grey What’s Up. Throw in some stamping, paper layering and pictures of the an adorable fur baby and …

Title: Go. Go. Go. Cardstock: Coredinations- (peach fizz, lei flower)-Tim Holtz (weathered wood); Patterned Paper: Basic Grey- What’s up (light as a feather, balloon festival, up and away, first flight, friendly skies, in flight), My Mind’s Eye-(Howdy Doody- Beautiful) 6×6 paper pad (Vanity Fair, Lost & Found Two Rosy and Blush), (Pretty Please-Polka Dot Pink); Stamps: Technique Tuesday (Life Right Now, Love Always Wins), Studio Calico (Heyday Thoughts); Ink: Stampin Up (Pool Party, Peach Parfait), Momento (tuxedo black);Copic Markers: R02,R05,R08; Die Cut & Punches: Cricut (Graphically Speaking), Die-nanamics (flat bottom cloud), Papertrey Ink Die (Tag Sale #6), Sizzix Framelits (kites), Stampin Up (scallop), EK Success (Round Binding); Embellishments: American Crafts (niki riki), Pink Paislee (twine), want2scrap (pearls), My Mind’s Eye-Lost& Found Two Rosy (brads, ordinary label stickers), Basic Grey- what’s up (felt stickers, chipboards), Serendipity & Shine on (brads), Studio G (blue button stickers), Cosmo Cricket (tiny text), MJ Trimming (ribbon).

Thanks for stopping by. More to Come. Celia

One thought on “Evolution of Style

Leave a Reply

