Your Not the Boss of Me!

As a general rule, I am not fond of being told what to do. I know, it’s a personality flaw that gets in my way more often times than not. But I am one of those individuals who truly takes to the ole adage of “You can go your own way.”  When it comes to scrapbooking, that personality flaw makes it almost impossible for me to follow a sketch. I look at sketches and when I try to recreate them, I just snarl up my lip and say in my head (because not everybody needs to know about my obstinacy)- Your not the boss of me. And then I just end up doing what I want and the end result has no bearing to the sketch.

So what about the reverse. What if I make the layout and then create a sketch from that? I know it is basically the anomaly of a sketch but I am working through my quirks people. So this is going to be a series here on the old blog, Your Not the Boss of Me!  I will make a layout and then make a sketch OR I will actually follow a sketch and produce a layout. It may take several cups of coffee spiked with Bailey’s but I promise to do it.  And there are a couple of sketch sites that I really like and follow: PageMaps, Creative Scrappers, any sketch made by Kelly Purkey or Shimelle Laine.

So first up, is a layout I made and developed a sketch from. It is a square in a square in a square with some circle embellishments to round it off (note, the cleverness of this ridiculous sentence).

The Sketch:

The Layout:

Title: 2 IF BY SEA. Cardstock: Coredinations- Tim Holtz (fired brick), Bazzill (whirlpool, ash). Patterned Paper: My Mind’s Eye-miss caroline (Dolled Up Day) Lost & Found (Portobello Road Buddies), Authentique-Fresh (Light, Clear, Pure, Free), Fancy Pants- Love Birds (Circle of Love). Stamps: Papertrey Ink (Tiny Tags, Banner Builder), Hero Arts (Fabulous Flourish), My Sentiments Exactly (We’ve moved postcard). Ink: Stampin Up (Basic Gray), Tim Holtz Ranger Distress Ink (stormy sky, fired brick), Smooch Spritz (sea breeze), Maya Mists (garnet). Die Cut & Punches: Cherry Lynn Designs (English Tea Party, French Pastry), Papertrey Ink Die (Boxy Banner and Border, Tiny Tags, Journal Tabs), Tim Holtz-On the Edge (brackets), Cuttlebug (houndstooth embossing folder). Embellishments: Tim Holtz-ideology (Numerals), Studio Calico (wood veneer transportation and people), Authentique-Fresh Details, American Crafts (Rockabye), Kaisercraft (rhinestones), My Mind’s Eye-Indie Chic (brads). Misc: Kerri Bradford Designs (photo collage).

Thanks for stopping by. More to come, Celia.

One thought on “Your Not the Boss of Me!

  1. Fun title! Great colors! What a fantastic idea to create your own sketches from your layouts. Just remember, a sketch is a jumping off spot, it doesn’t have to be exact. Take what you want, leave what doesn’t work for you.

Leave a Reply

