Color Challenge: Color Story Inspiration with a Sketch Twist (CSI Case File #122)

CSI Case file No. 122: With the CSI challenges, you must use all five colors in the scheme, at least 2 elements in your layout from the evidence list and at least 1 element from the testimony. And this week they threw in an extra twist by adding a sketch.

122

Case Solved- The Layout: This was a really fun color combination and let me dig into my patterned paper stash for a layout that combined several different companies and collections (from Teresa Collins, Basic Grey to Simple Stories and My Mind’s Eye). The sketch was actually quite interesting and I liked the large white space with the suspended pictures and embellishments. I stuck to the sketch except for I had to put my spin on it by titling the white patterned foundation paper.

Girl Code Cover Update

The Evidence: The evidence list of this challenge was just made for my scrapbook style so I incorporated five items in the layout scheme. (1) Flowers- I used several die cuts to create a floral swag. (2) Something Transparent- I layered the black cardstock butterflies with a patterned vellum on top. (3) Cursive Font- I used a cursive font for the die cut title. (4) Circles- The white foundation paper was a little distressed but a little to0 stark white. So I created a circle mask and stamp and ink circles onto the foundation paper to create some more graphic texture. (5) I added a floral sprig on the black swag and leaves to the flowers.

Girl Code Detail 4

Girl Code Detail 3

The Testimony: This was a little more tricky for me- the picture is one of my favorites from my law school friend’s wedding. And lucky enough I was wearing my favorite orange dress and all my girlfriends looked fabulous and elegant.

Thanks for stopping by. More to come. Celia

_____________________________________________________

Title: Girl Code. Cardstock: Project Life (Honey), American Crafts-POW (Honeycomb); Core’dinations (Forest Moss, Bundled Sage). Patterned Paper: Teresa Collins- Something Wonderful (Black Stripes Paper); Basic Grey-Hopscotch (Four Square), Clippings (Flannel Suit, Cotton Dress), Green at Heart (Sage); My Mind’s Eye- Lime Twist (Fly a Kite Spring), Stella And Rose (Mabel So Sweet), Lost & Found (Sunshine Memories Blossoms), Lush 2 (Orange Damask), Necessities Black & Grey (6×6 paper pad), Sweetest Thing Tangerine (6×6 paper pad); Simple Stories- Snap (6×6 paper pad); Studio Calico- Darling Dear (Hepburn). Stamps: Kaisercraft (Stains); Hero Arts (Brush); Technique Tuesday (Best Banners); Impression Obsession (Borders, Beauty Text). Die Cut & Punches: Lifestyle Crafts (Lemonade); Memory Box (Petal Party); Silhouette Design (Flowers-Retro #45256, Flowers #55045, Three Vines with Leaves #54802, Set of 12 Leaves #55158); Impression Obsession (Butterflies); Stampin Up (3/8 Circle punch, punch); EK Success (Scalloped Scallop, ½ Circle punch); Marvy Uchida (5/8 Circle punch); Martha Stewart Crafts (Monarch Butterfly); Fiskars (Small Flower punch); Recollections (Mini Starburst, Mini Flower punch); Studio G (Mini Flower punch). Embellishments: Chic Tags (Happy Place-Phrases); Freckled Fawn (Washi Tape); Recollections (Washi Tape); Studio Calico (Die Cut Shapes, Color Theory Enamel Dots); My Mind’s Eye (Wicked-Enamel Dots, Lost & Found Halloween- Brads); Basic Grey (Fact & Fiction – Alphabet Stickers); Spare Parts (Brads); Misc. (Pearls, Washi Tape). Inks: Momento (Tuxedo Black); Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Wild Honey, Dried Marigold).

Leave a Reply

