Scrapbook Therapy- Typical Predictability

Thanks for joining me on the couch (or chair or bed basically where ever you read these ranting of this crazy scrap addict) for another Scrapbook Therapy session. Today we are talking predictability. Now, don’t act you don’t know what I am talking about. Holiday themed layouts tend to have the same Color Schemes: red, green, blue with either gold or silver thrown in (although hats off to Chickanddy Crafts Jolly Good Collection for throwing in a little orange) and Graphics: trees, ornaments, stars, snowflakes and the more recently added deer head.  Now, if the amount of Christmas collections that I purchase every year is any indication, I totally heart Christmas! Working my way through a December Daily album (that ummm sometimes does not get finished until January) and all the various festive Holiday layouts, I am always trying to find ways to make each layout fresh and unique- because the most important part of paper crafting is the creativity, right?  The predictability of the color scheme and graphics can either make for the typical predictable layout design that puts Mistress Creative in the blahs or it forces you to be on your S game (for scrapbookers- not an A game- it’s a Scissor Game).   SO how do you change it up- make the page visually interesting but also tell the story? I try to make each Holiday layout different and this time, I just went for Overkill! The story is about my first real White Christmas and so I went all out on the snowflakes. Now, snowflake overload could make the eyes hurt but if you go Tone on Tone overkill can work!  Tone on Tone is my favorite method for making an impact on a theme but keeping it visually pleasing.

The Layout: I threw in one of my signature layout moves of slanting the design so your eyes travel across the page. But check out those Tone on Tone snowflakes. I used three separate snowflake punches of various sizes and a MFT Die-Namic that makes great star confetti. I used the same cream paper for the base and snowflakes and stars. To distinguish the diecuts from the background paper, I spritzed them with Mr. Huey’s Shine so you get a little sparkle and frost.

 Dreaming

Dreaming 4

Dreaming 3

Hoping this little scrapbook therapy session was as good for you as it was for me! Thanks for stopping by. More to come. Celia

______________________________

Title: Dreaming. Cardstock: American Crafts (Crimson). Patterned Paper: Echo Park Paper- Christmas Cheer (3×4 Journaling Cards, Green/Cream, Christmas Phrases, Christmas Countdown, 6×6 paper pad). Die Cut & Punches: Lawn Fawn (Stitched Snowflakes, Stitched Scalloped Borders); Martha Stewart Crafts (Glacial Snowflake); Recollections (Snowflake); Studio G (Snowflake, Christmas Tree); My Favorite Things Die-Namics (Peek a Boo Stars).Embellishments: Echo Park Paper- Christmas Cheer (Decorative Brads, Element Stickers, Alpha Stickers); Misc. (Enamel Dots). Inks: Studio Calico (Mister Huey’s Shine).

 

One thought on “Scrapbook Therapy- Typical Predictability

  1. Pingback: Manic Diecut Monday: Ruling scrapbooking with an Iron Fist | justthepaper

Leave a Reply

